Defining Excellence Awards Banner
Massey University Distinguished Alumni Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2018 Massey University Distinguished Alumni Awards



Past Recipients


Sir Geoffrey Peren Award - Ross McEwan

When Ross McEwan was appointed chief executive of the Royal Bank of Scotland in 2013, it was considered one of the toughest jobs in banking. But the Massey University alumnus has never been one to shy away from a challenge.

Mr McEwan completed his Bachelor of Business Studies at Massey University in 1979, with a major in human resource management. He started his business career in personnel and human resources roles at Unilever, Dunlop and then National Mutual.

He progressed up the management ladder at National Mutual, before taking the top job after the takeover by French insurance company Axa. At this stage he was one of the youngest chief executives in New Zealand, running the local operations of Axa at the age of 40.

He went on to become general manager at the stockbroking firm First New Zealand Capital Securities before heading to the Commonwealth Bank of Australia. He started in the role of general manager before becoming group executive for retail banking services, a position he held for five years.

In 2012 he became chief executive officer for United Kingdom retail at the Royal Bank of Scotland before securing the top job the following year.

Distinguished Service Award - Mavis Mullins

With growing accolades to her name, Mavis Mullins, of Rangitāne, Te Atihaunui-a-Paparangi and Ngāti Ranginui, has forged a path in the primary sector, with a lengthy career in agribusiness.

Born and raised in Dannevirke, southern Hawke’s Bay, Mrs Mullins graduated with her Master of Business Administration from Massey University in 1996. A mother of four, and grandmother to 14, Mrs Mullins (nee Paewai) is a fourth-generation sheep farmer. She and husband Koro purchased the family shearing contracting business that dated back to her grandfather, the 1920s All Black Lui Paewai.

With more than 20 years experience in governance in public and private enterprises, she has become a well-known and respected leader within the wool and agri sectors and on the international business stage.

Mrs Mullins has sat on the boards of Landcorp, the MidCentral and Wairarapa District Health Boards and the Massey University Council (2005-09). Her past governance roles have included 2degrees Mobile and Aohanga Incorporation, and she currently chairs Atihau Whanganui Incorporation, the Maori business development Poutama Trust, Taratahi Agricultural Training Centre and the post-settlement governance entity Rangitäne Tu Mai Ra.

She is a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit, won the rural category at last year’s Women of Influence Awards and will be inducted in to the New Zealand Business Hall of Fame in July.

Distinguished Young Alumni - Pengbo Jiang

Master of Management graduate Pengbo Jiang is making a name for himself as an advocate for new migrants.

The 26-year-old, who moved to Wellington with his family from Fuzhou, northern China, as a child, wants to ensure the settling in experience for new migrants is as smooth as possible.

Over the past 13 years he has volunteered thousands of hours to different organisations in Wellington, working to help new migrants integrate into New Zealand society. He helps to promote and fundraise to showcase their cultures in the community and also offers student and business mentorship.

Mr Jiang works as a senior consultant at Ernst and Young, is a board member of Multicultural Learning and Support Services, a committee member of the New Zealand Association of Immigration Professionals and a committee member of the Wellington branch of the New Zealand China Friendship Society.

As part of his own integration to his adopted homeland, he is learning to speak Māori.

In recognition of his community services he has been awarded the Pride of Workmanship Award by Rotary International and a Volunteer Connect Award by the Wellington City Council.

Distinguished Achievement Award - Peter Chrisp

Peter Chrisp's work history defies a common misperception - that a degree in the humanities and social sciences is of little relevance in the world of business and enterprise.

He graduated with Bachelor of arts and Master of Arts in social sciences and has been Chief Executive of New Zealand Trade and Enterprise since 2010, leading an organisation charged with lifting New Zealand's economic performance by growing companies internationally.

Over the past 30 years he has had roles in the engineering, manufacturing and the pulp and paper industries. He started his work life with the New Zealand Engineering Union as an educator and negotiator, progressed through the management ranks at Fletcher Challenge before leading Norsek Skog Paper in Kawerau. From there he was promoted to company headquarters in Oslo as Senior Vice President Business Improvement, covering operations throughout the world, before moving to Sydney to run the Australasian businesses.

Born and raised in Gisborne, Mr Chrisp has held several board roles including the New Zealand Qualifications Authority, the Education Training and Support Agency, the Australia Pulp and Paper Industry Council, the New Zealand China Council and the NZ Story group.

He has been partnered on this journey with his wife Judith, three children, a dog and a blue-tongued lizard.


Traci Houpapa

Distinguished Alumni Service Award 2016

John-Daniel Trask

Distinguished Young Alumni Award 2016

Professor Iain Hay

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award 2016

Professor Graham Le Gros

Sir Geoffrey Peren Award 2016


Andrew Cameron

Distinguished Alumni Service Award 2015

Jane Haste (nee Parsons)

Distinguished Young Alumni Award 2015

Dr Alex Buchanan AM

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award 2015

Graeme Milne ONZM

Sir Geoffrey Peren Award 2015


Peter Hughes

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award 2014

Linda Jenkinson

Sir Geoffrey Peren Award 2014

Don McKenzie

Distinguished Alumni Service Award 2014

Kathryn Wilson

Distinguished Alumni Young Award 2014


Dr Frances Hughes ONZM

Distinguished Alumni Service Award 2013

David Kelly

Distinguished Young Alumni Award 2013

Hon John Luxton QSO

Sir Geoffrey Peren Award 2013

Dr Barry O’Neil

Distinguished Achievement Award 2013


Sir Graham Henry

Sir Geoffrey Peren Award 2012

Stephen Jennings

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award 2012

Dennis Oliver

Distinguished Alumni Service Award 2012

Luke Di Somma

Distinguished Alumni Young Award 2012

Sue Suckling

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award 2012


Sharron Cole

Distinguished Alumni Service Award: Services to the Community & Nation 2011

Professor Gregor Reid

Distinguished Young Achievement Award 2011

Peter MacGillivray

Distinguished Alumni Service Award: Services to the University 2011

Carl Sanders-Edwards

Distinguished Young Alumni Award 2011

Sir Neil Waters

Sir Geoffrey Peren Distinguished Alumni Award 2011


Alan Frampton

Sir Geoffrey Peren Medal: Services to Agriculture 2010

Dr Shaun Hendy

Distinguished Young Alumni Award 2010

Sarah Kennedy

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award 2010

HE Dr the Rt Hon  Lockwood Smith

Distinguished Alumni Service Award 2010

Yvette McCausland-Durie

Distinguished Young Alumni Award 2010

Dr Judy McGregor

Distinguished Alumni Service Award 2010

Sir Richard Taylor

Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award 2010